My Top Ten Films of the Decade

Thanks to Andy Wallis for the inspiration to post my top ten films of the decade, a bit of an indulgence but what the……. it is that time of the year for making lists and there’s nothing we boys like better, so here goes. Please enjoy and feel free to respond.

1Wilbur Wants to Kill Himself Directed by Lone Scherfig

 
2 Talk to Her Directed by Pedro Almodovar

3 Les Choristes Directed by Christophe Barratier

4 The Lives of Others Directed by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck

5 Man on Wire Directed by James Marsh

6 City of God Directed by Fernando Meirelles and Katia Lund

7 The Beat My Heart Skipped Directed by Jacques Audiard

8 Atonement Directed by Joe Wright

9 Brokeback Mountain Directed by Ang Lee

10 Amelie Directed by Jean-Pierre Jeunet

9 thoughts on “My Top Ten Films of the Decade

  1. Hi Lynne,
    Good to hear from you.
    It’s a charming film on so many different levels and certainly one of my all-time favourites with an educational theme, along with To Sir With Love and Kes.
    Bill

  2. Hi Bill

    A great list there. Both Man On Wire and City of God almost made it into my list. I also highly rate Amelie. Some in your list I still have yet to see, but will aim to watch them. The last decade brought so many good films.

    The latest edition of Sight & Sound also has a good list (many of which I haven’t seen yet):

    Adaptation
    Battle in Heaven
    The Beat that my Heart Skipped
    The Bourne Ultimatum
    Colossal Youth
    The Death of Mr Lazarescu
    Eloge de L’Amour
    The Five Obstructions
    The Gleaners and I
    Hidden (Cache)
    Inland Empire
    In The Mood For Love
    Memories of Murder
    La Nina Santa
    A One and a Two…
    Platform
    Russian Ark
    The Son
    Spirited Away
    Talk to her
    10
    There Will Be Blood
    35 Shots of Rum
    Touching the Void
    Tropical Malady
    United Red Army
    Uzak
    Waiting for Happiness
    Werckmeister Harmonies
    Workingman’s Death

    Andy

  3. Hi Andy,
    Just makes you realise how many good films are actually produced. Haven’t seen There Will be Blood yet but really fancy it from the summary my future son-in law gave me yesterday! Spirited Away is a beautifully made little film and Touching the Void is an incredible story of course – though I must admit I think I preferred the book on this occasion. Thanks for the list though – I’ll watch out for them.

    Cheers
    Bill

  4. “Wilbur Wants To Kill Himself” is one of the most under rated films ever made. It has moments which both make me laugh out loud and which break my heart. “City of God” is also a classic!

  5. Hi Jo,
    I agree. Wilbur is a far more sophisticated film than many of the better-known ones – a kind of Scottish ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest’ I think, and a bit of an undiscovered gem. Scottish Screen have the poster for the film on the wall of their Glasgow office.
    Bill

  6. Werner Herzog’s ‘Grizzly Man’, a documentary about environmentalist – or just mentalist – Timothy Treadwell is a must see..

    Although who can overlook the record of Partick Thistle’s march to the 2nd Division championship in 2001, captured in glorious Betarama and with a Montford-esque voiceover supplied by Wullie from the pie stall..

Leave a Reply

