Changing Texts in the Twenty Tens: Scotland – Leader or Loser?

Last Friday I made a keynote presentation to ‘Communication Skills for the Twenty Tens’,  a digital media conference in Glasgow Metropolitan College, and I thought I’d share it with you. I originally uploaded it as a slideshow to Slideshare, an excellent website where you can share and search for presentations on a whole range of topics. Keep it in mind if you have something coming up and you are a bit stuck for ideas. However, as I’m sure most of you have realised by now, most presentations are pretty useless without at least the presenter’s notes, and even then you can be struggling to follow their train of thought. So for that reason I’ve spent the best part of this morning using Audacity to record the narration, uploaded it to the Slideshare website and had fun with the synchronisation tool to create a slidecast. Hope you find it interesting, and please leave a comment.

10 thoughts on “Changing Texts in the Twenty Tens: Scotland – Leader or Loser?

  1. That was just BRILIANT Bill! Thanks for putting it all together. Something everyone should listen to – great ideas on how we can all approach our repsonsibilities to literacy across the curriculum. Well done.

  2. Catriona,
    Thanks for the very generous comments. The fact that you find it useful as an illustration of ‘responsibility of all’ is helpful feedback and quite reassuring, as that is a concept which means so many things to different people, and one that many teachers are looking for support with. I’m sure it’s an issue which will become more and more important as time goes on.

    Bill

  3. Bill,
    Sorry I didn’t get round to watching the presentation on Fri/Sat. I’ve made a point of watching it today though, and found it thoroughly interesting. Hopefully these messages and ideas are seeping out into the mainstream – can’t help thinking we’ve got a long way to go though!
    Cheers,
    Gordon

  4. Thanks Gordon,
    I quite agree there’s a long way to go, but as I said in the presentation, there’s no point in preparing young people – even preparing them well – for last century, and increasingly that’s what schools will be doing if we’re not careful. I think changing the nature of assessment will certainly help. Another thing I would urge politicians to do is to stop taking part in international comparative studies until we are confident that they are comparing like with like.
    Otherwise the temptation is to weaken and retreat into a far more conservative approach to learning and teaching.

    Bill

  5. Pingback: Turning Left? – Scottish Roundup

  6. Hi Bill
    This has been on my to-do list for a few days and I am pleased I finally did. Some really interesting points re breadth of literacy and I agree that this is not (nor should it be) an ‘either or’ battle with traditional texts.
    As a student teacher, CfE is our ‘be-all’ and I do buy in to the responsibility for all elements but I am dubious about how meaningful this will prove to be at the coal face. My suspicion is that the CfE is already being implemented naturally by the more imaginative practitioners and will never be by the more fossilized in the profession but I hope that, in time, it will also reach the majority that operate in the (mediocre) middle.
    Thanks for sharing your work and helpful sites.
    debbie

  7. Hi Debbie,
    Thanks for taking the trouble to read the blogpost and comment as you have. I think that already demonstrates that you are committed to being a teacher. I tend to agree that CfE is already being implemented by more imaginative teachers, and I don’t know whether you were implying this, but I disagree with those who suggest it is a generational thing ie older teachers need to make way for young teachers who automatically embrace new technologies and the principles of CfE. This is not the case -I know just as many older teachers who welcome the values, principles and purposes of CfE as newly qualified teachers. You didn’t say whether you were primary or secondary, and if secondary which subject you will teach, but I am reassured by the fact that you recognise ‘the responsibility of all’ in the development of literacy skills.

    Bill

  8. Hi again

    For clarity, I agree – this is definitely not an age/generation thing. (But then I am 44 so I would say that wouldn’t I??!) All about attitude…

    Secondary. English. Made for CfE🙂

    Debbie

  9. PS. On the same note, one of my favourite sources for inspiration and suggestions is Susan Carter Morgan who teaches in the US. http://www.scmorgan.net/. I note from her website that she is planning to leave her school to further develop her web 2.0 work… Very engaging, great at sharing and a brilliant example a mature teacher who thrives on learning…

  10. Haha,
    I must admit to a certain bias towards secondary English teachers – after all it was what I wanted to be when I left school and I had the privilege of doing it for thirty years!
    Thanks for the tip about Susan Carter Morgan. I will now go and check out her website.

    Best wishes,
    Bill

Leave a Reply

